Songbird

I want out
I want out
I want out
Stuck in spirals that lead to their beginning
Everyone saying different things, but they all have their motives
My dreams are hellscapes
And my hellscapes are dreams
Sit next to me and I’ll tell you a joke

I feel like a caged bird
Some exotic one, freakish looking
Plucked from the sky and trapped on the earth
In a culture I don’t understand
But which apparently belongs to me
I lived in a time that never existed
to avoid a time I never wanted

My back aches
my wings long to stretch
But there is scarcely room to breathe
Forced to perform for a leering parlour
All at once too good and not good enough
Even if it’s colder amongst the clouds
I want out
I want out
I want out

1 thought on “Songbird”

Leave a Reply

